Business Standard
What is Samajwadi Party?

Samajwadi Party

About Samajwadi Party

What is Samajwadi Party?

The Samajwadi Party (SP), based in Uttar Pradesh, was founded in 1992 by Mulayam Singh Yadav, who formed the outfit after quitting Chandrashekhar’s Janata Dal (Socialist).
Prior to establishing the Samajwadi Party, Yadav had previously run a government in Uttar Pradesh as a member of Janata Dal (Socialist) with the support of the Congress. However, the state government fell as Congress withdrew its support. This led to the formation of the Samajwadi Party. The party’s main aim was to establish its position as a major force in Uttar Pradesh.
In 1993, the Samajwadi party formed an alliance with the Bahujan Samaj Party to keep the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) from returning to power in the state. It was successful in doing so and Mulayam Singh Yadav became the chief minister. However, this government fell as Congress again withdrew support. The party continued its struggle in the state, even as the chief minister's chair was taken in turns by the SP and BSP until 2017.
The party suffered a major defeat in the Lok Sabha polls of 2014, which was swept by the BJP not only in Uttar Pradesh but across India, riding mainly on the so-called ‘Modi wave’. Subsequently, the fate of the Samajwadi Party in the state elections of 2017 was not much different. The loss of the 2017 Assembly polls was also the result of a family feud, with Mulayam Singh Yadav and his brother Shivpal on the one side and son Akhilesh (then the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh) on the other along with cousin Ram Gopal Yadav. The differences were over running of the party’s operations.
Samajwadi Party is now led by former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Akhilesh Yadav after he was chosen as the President on January 1, 2017.

Latest Updates on Samajwadi Party

Akhilesh Yadav accuses BJP of negligence after 18 killed in Unnao accident

He also raised questions about the presence of the highway police, patrolling services, towing assistance and the mismanagement by the government

Updated On : 10 Jul 2024 | 12:46 PM IST

Hathras stampede: UP govt hiding failure with minor arrests, says Akhilesh

He also said that if the BJP government says that it had nothing to do with the event, then it has no right to stay in power

Updated On : 06 Jul 2024 | 2:09 PM IST

Parliament highlights: RS adjourned sine die after Motion of Thanks to President's Address passed

Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha news updates: Here are the highlights on the developments related to the Parliament here

Updated On : 03 Jul 2024 | 9:28 PM IST

Samajwadi Party's Ayodhya win was 'Ram's will': Akhilesh Yadav in Lok Sabha

Akhilesh Yadav says that INDIA bloc's win in 2024 Lok Sabha elections marked the end of communal politics in India, while speaking in Parliament

Updated On : 02 Jul 2024 | 2:24 PM IST

Lok Sabha polls marked end of communal politics in India, says Akhilesh

June 4, 2024 was the day of independence from communal politics for India. In this election, communal politics has lost forever, Yadav said

Updated On : 02 Jul 2024 | 12:14 PM IST

Parliament session highlights: PM Modi condoles the Hathras incident in Parliament

Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha news updates: Prime Minister Narendra Modi is delivering his reply to the Motion of Thanks on the President's Address in the Lok Sabha

Updated On : 02 Jul 2024 | 6:54 PM IST

Six hurt in attack on Samajwadi Party leader Vijay Yadav's residence in UP

According to the police, the SP leader alleged in his complaint that the assailants wanted to kill his entire family

Updated On : 01 Jul 2024 | 12:53 PM IST

Parliament highlights: Both Houses laud Indian cricket team's T20 World Cup win

Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha news: Catch all the news updates related to the developments in the Parliament here

Updated On : 01 Jul 2024 | 9:53 PM IST

SP MP Ram Gopal Yadav gets VIP lift to Parliament amid Delhi deluge. Watch

Samajwadi Party MP Ram Gopal Yadav used his support staff to leave his Delhi residence due to heavy rainfall causing floods in many areas

Updated On : 28 Jun 2024 | 2:11 PM IST

Parliament highlights: Chaos erupts in Rajya Sabha over NEET issue

Parliament news highlights July 28: Catch all the latest new updates related to the Parliament here

Updated On : 28 Jun 2024 | 5:07 PM IST

Parliament news updates: Both Houses adjourned for the day

Parliament news updates: Catch all the latest new updates related to the Parliament here

Updated On : 27 Jun 2024 | 5:42 PM IST

Akhilesh Yadav targets Modi govt over irregularities in competitive exams

The former Uttar Pradesh chief minister also termed the leaking of question papers of various examinations as a "mental tragedy"

Updated On : 17 Jun 2024 | 7:01 PM IST

Mayawati ignored Bahujan movement: BSP founding member RK Chaudhary

Now, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav is taking forward the Bahujan movement, demanding social equality for backward castes and disadvantaged communities, said RK Chaudhary

Updated On : 16 Jun 2024 | 10:24 AM IST

INDIA's joy may be short lived as 7 UP MPs risk losing parliamentary seats

Six elected MP's from the INDIA bloc in Uttar Pradesh have serious criminal charges pending, which, if convicted, will result in their poll victories standing cancelled

Updated On : 12 Jun 2024 | 10:57 AM IST

Assertion & confrontation

Ahead of the 2022 Assembly polls, Azad did talk to Akhilesh Yadav of the Samajwadi Party (SP) for some kind of adjustment

Updated On : 07 Jun 2024 | 11:53 PM IST

SP to give 'sammansad' title to some defeated 'INDIA' candidates: Akhilesh

Reacting to the parliamentary election results, Yadav, in a post in Hindi on X, said, "We believe that all our candidates who could not win due to the BJP-administrative scams are actually winners."

Updated On : 07 Jun 2024 | 8:55 PM IST

After SP, even BJP ally JD(U) takes aim at Agniveer scheme, seeks review

Two key leaders, one from the NDA and the other from the INDIA bloc, have criticised the Agnipath Scheme

Updated On : 06 Jun 2024 | 7:34 PM IST

Lok Sabha: Which parties are members of the INDIA bloc & the seats they won

Lok Sabha elections 2024: The Congress party secured 99 seats in the general elections, while its allies won the remaining 135. See full list of INDIA bloc winners here

Updated On : 06 Jun 2024 | 6:48 PM IST

Election updates: Stock market fell as investors feared when Cong gained in seats, says Piyush Goyal

Lok Sabha Election Results 2024 Updates: Catch all the news updates related to the election results here

Updated On : 06 Jun 2024 | 11:21 PM IST

50th anniversary of JP's 'Sampoorna Kranti' call, tributes paid in Patna

The 'Bihar Movement' during the turbulent 70s eventually led to the Emergency

Updated On : 06 Jun 2024 | 7:14 AM IST