Business Standard

Amethi Constituency

About Amethi Constituency


Amethi is one of the 80 Lok Sabha seats the northern state of Uttar Pradesh which came into existence on 1 July 2010. Amethi district (latitude 26 degrees 9 minutes North and longitude 81 degrees 49 minutes East) is a part of Ayodhya division in the Awadh region of Uttar Pradesh at an average elevation of 101 meters (331 feet) from the mean sea level. The north side of the district is bounded by Ayodhya district, south side is bounded by Pratapgarh district. 
The Amethi parliamentary constituency is currently represented by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Smriti Irani. Established in 1967, the constituency covers the entire Amethi district. Initially, it was named Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj Nagar, but was later renamed as Amethi. There are five assembly segments under the Amethi Lok Sabha constituency. These include Tiloi, Salon, Jagdishpur, Gauriganj, and Amethi. The BJP, and the Indian National Congress (INC) are the main parties in the constituency.
Elections 2024
The Amethi Lok Sabha constituency will go to polls on May 20 in Phase -V. The date of counting and announcement of results is June 4.
BJP has again fielded Smriti Irani from Amethi. There have been speculations that Rahul Gandhi, who has been renominated by the Congress from Kerala's Wayanad, may also contest from Amethi.
Amethi's electorate, predominantly rural at 96 per cent, with an urban fraction of merely 4 per cent, comprises a substantial Scheduled Castes population at 26.6 per cent. The religious demography reveals 85 per cent Hindus and 15 per cent Muslims. 
According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), there were 1,743,515 voters in the Amethi constituency during the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections. Out of this, 924,563 voters were male, 818,812 were female voters and140 voters belonged to the third gender. There were as many as 1,472 postal votes in the constituency. The number of service voters in Amethi in 2019 was 2,482 (2,390 were men and 92 were women). The total number of valid votes polled during the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections was 942,453 or 54.05 per cent.
Political history
The Amethi seat was once a Congress bastion and has been represented by Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi, Sanjay Gandhi as well as Rajiv Gandhi. The first election in this constituency took place in 1967, in which Vidyadhar Bajpai of Indian National Congress (INC) became the Member of Parliament (MP). From 1971 to 1977, Ravindra Pratap Singh of the Janata Party served as the MP. In 1980, Sanjay Gandhi of Congress defeated Ravindra Pratap Singh. After Sanjay Gandhi’s death in a plane crash, a by-election took place in 1981, which was won by Rajiv Gandhi. Sonia Gandhi represented this constituency from 1999 to 2004. Her son, Rahul Gandhi, was elected in 2004. He held the seat till the 2019 election when he was defeated by a margin of 55,000 votes by the BJP's Smriti Irani.

Latest Updates on Amethi Constituency

No article available in this category.