Business Standard

Wayanad Constituency

About Wayanad Constituency


Nestled among the mountains of the Western Ghats, Wayanad (lies between 11 degrees 27 minutes to 15 degrees 58 minutes north latitude and 75 degrees 47 minutes to 70 degrees 27 minutes east longitude) is known as the green paradise. It is located at a distance of about 76 kms from the seashore of Kozhikode and lies at a height of 700 to 2100 meters above the sea level, in the north-eastern part of Kerala state.
Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in Kerala. It was formed in 2008 following the delimitation law. The Wayanad seat comprises seven Assembly segments including Mananthavady, Sulthan Bathery, Kalpetta, Thiruvambady, Eranad, Nilambur and Wandoor. The Indian National Congress (INC), and the Communist Party of India (CPI) are the main parties in the constituency. 
Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency will go to polls on April 26 in Phase 2 and results will be announced on June 4.
Rahul Gandhi of the INC is reseeking polls from the Wayanad constituency. Other major candidates are  K Surendran of BJP, and Annie Raja of CPI.
According to the data from the Election Commission of India, there were 1,359,679 voters in the Wayanad constituency during the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections. Out of this, 674,807 voters were male, 684,871 were female voters and only 1 voter belonged to the third gender. So, female voters outnumbered their male counterparts, constituting a majority in the constituency. As many as 2,282 were postal votes in the constituency. The number of service voters in Wayanad in 2019 was 1,860 (1,796 were men and 64 were women).
Political history
In the first two terms after its formation, Congress represented the seat in the Lok Sabha. M I Shanvas, the first MP of Wayanad, died in November 2018. He had won the seat twice. In 2014, he brought Congress party a second term victory in the constituency by defeating CPI candidate Sathyan Mokeri by a margin of 20,870 votes.
In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Rahul Gandhi of INC won the Wayanad constituency, securing 706,367. CPI’s P P Suneer secured 274,597 votes.

Read BJP manifesto 2024 
Read INC manifesto 2024

Latest Updates on Wayanad Constituency

No article available in this category.