BJP releases list of 54 candidates for Tripura Assembly elections on Feb 16

The IPF's power has considerably waned with the rise of TIPRA Motha - a regional party founded by former Congress leader and royal scion Pradyot Deb Barman

Press Trust of India New Delhi
election, voting

Photo: Shutterstock

The BJP on Saturday announced the names of its 54 candidates for the February 16 Tripura Assembly polls, fielding Chief Minister Manik Saha from Town Bordowali and Union minister Pratima Bhoumik from Dhanpur again.

Party leaders Anil Baluni and Sambit Patra named 48 candidates at a press conference at the BJP headquarters here and another list of six more was released later. The seats included some where the party's ally and tribal outfit Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) had contested last time.

In Agartala, Chief Minister Manik Saha announced the seat-sharing deal with IPFT which has been allocated five constituencies, four less than what it got in the 2018 polls.

Saha told a press conference that the BJP will contest in 55 constituencies.

The IPF's power has considerably waned with the rise of TIPRA Motha - a regional party founded by former Congress leader and royal scion Pradyot Deb Barman.

The BJP had reached out to the TIPRA leadership for a tie-up but the regional party's insistence that the Centre agree to its demand for a separate state for the indigenous population ruled it out.

Also Read

Exit of 5 MLAs jolt for Tripura BJP ahead of assembly polls: Manik Sarkar

Tripura: Another MLA of BJP ally IPFT resigns, may join Tipra Motha

BJP says will retain alliance with IPFT in 2023 Tripura assembly polls

President Murmu flags off first Kolkata-Agartala express train from Tripura

Amit Shah to arrive in Tripura to flag off two rath yatras of BJP today

BJP top brass meets to finalise candidates ahead of Tripura polls

3 EC special observers to visit Tripura today to review poll preparedness

EC to host global conference on 'Use of Technology and Elections Integrity'

NE Assembly elections: ECI appoints observers to monitor poll process

Assembly polls in Tripura on Feb 16; in Nagaland, Meghalaya on Feb 27: ECI

The state assembly has 60 seats.

Bhoumik was a first-time MP and was elected from the West Tripura Lok Sabha constituency. She was the first person hailing from the state to become a central minister.

In 2018, she had lost the election in Dhanpur assembly seat against the then Tripura Chief Minister Manik Sarkar.

Saha, who replaced Biplab Kumar Deb as chief minister, had won the by-election from Town Bardowali in June last year. Deb was elected to Rajya Sabha in September last year.

In the last assembly polls in 2018, the BJP for the time had formed a government in Tripura, demolishing a Left bastion. The CPI(M) ruled the state for 25 years.

The CPI(M) is contesting the state elections in alliance with the Congress this time.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Jan 28 2023 | 11:56 PM IST

Explore News