Maxwell, Marsh return as Australia name squad for ODI series against India

Australia have named a trio of key players in their squad to make a return from injury during next month's three-match ODI series in India

ANI Cricket
India vs Australia, Ind vs Aus

Photo: PTI

Australia have named a trio of key players in their squad to make a return from injury during next month's three-match ODI series in India.

Selectors announced a strong 16-player squad for the series on Thursday, with all-rounders Glenn Maxwell (broken leg) and Mitch Marsh (ankle) set to be joined by pacer Jhye Richardson (hamstring) in a small group slated to make their international return during the series.

Pat Cummins will lead Australia during the three matches, while experienced batters David Warner, Steve Smith and Marnus Labuschagne are also expected to feature.

According to chief selector George Bailey, the series will provide Australia with some excellent practice ahead of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup that is scheduled to take place in India later this year.

"With the World Cup just over seven months away, these matches in India are an important step in our preparation. Glenn, Mitchell and Jhye are all important players in what we think the squad might look like come October," Bailey said.

Experienced seamer Josh Hazlewood is also named in the touring party, despite the right-armer battling an Achilles injury that forced him out of the ongoing Test tour of India.

Also Read

T20 World Cup: England lifts trophy, beats Pakistan by 5 wickets

Hales in pole position to partner Buttler as opener, says England skipper

More initiatives on anvil to boost steel sector in 2023: Union Minister

We will not put pressure on ourselves over T20 World Cup: Moeen Ali

Alex Hales smashes fifty, helps England win by six wickets in first T20I

Women's Premier League: BCCI awards title sponsorship rights to TATA Group

Mandhana sizzles as India qualify for Women's T20 World Cup semifinals

Women's T20 World Cup: Mandhana describes 87 against Ireland as toughest

Women's T20 WC: Richa Ghosh, Renuka Thakur achieve career-best T20I ranking

After IPL, Tata Group bags title rights for Women's Premier League

"It would be great for Josh to be part of this series but we have taken a conservative view ahead of a very important winter in England of which he will be an integral part," Bailey said.

The first ODI between Australia and India is in Mumbai on March 17, before the remaining two games in Vizag (March 19) and Chennai (March 22).

Australia ODI squad: Pat Cummins (C), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner and Adam Zampa.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Feb 23 2023 | 10:10 AM IST

Explore News