Business Standard

Lok Sabha polls Phase 6: List of constituencies, key candidates. Details

Lok Sabha elections: Eight states and UTs including Delhi and Haryana will go to polls in the sixth phase on May 25

young voters,vote,election

First-time voters show their fingers marked with indelible ink after casting their votes for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections, in Morigaon district of Assam , Friday, April 26, 2024. (Photo: PTI)

Nisha Anand New Delhi
Lok Sabha Elections: Elections will be held on as many as 58 Lok Sabha seats in the sixth phase of polls on May 25, including all seven constituencies of Delhi. Delhi and seven more states and Union territories will face intense battles in the coming election phase after which only another 57 constituencies will be left in the subsequent and the final phase of polls on June 1.

In the previous phase, 49 seats went to polls under the shadow of some incidents of  violence in West Bengal and Bihar. Over 59 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the fifth phase, with the highest in West Bengal at over 73 per cent. While 695 candidates contested the fifth phase, a total of 889 candidates will battle it out in the sixth phase of the elections.

According to the Association of Democratic Reforms, about 39 per cent of the candidates contesting in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha polls are crorepatis with average assets of Rs 6.21 crore.

Notably, Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha constituency of Jammu and Kashmir, which was earlier supposed to go to polls on May 7, was moved to the sixth phase by the Election Commission later.

Lok Sabha elections phase 6: Key dates

Date of issue of gazette notification: April 29

Last date for candidates to submit their nominations: May 6

Last date for the withdrawal of candidature: May 9

Date of polls: May 25

Counting of votes: June 4

Which states and UTs will go to Lok Sabha elections in phase six?

1) Bihar: Eight out of 40 seats
2) Haryana: Ten out of ten constituencies
3) Jharkhand: Four out of 14 constituencies
4) Odisha: Six out of 21 seats
5) Uttar Pradesh: 14 out of 80 constituencies
6) West Bengal: Eight out of 42 seats
7) Delhi: Seven out of seven constituencies
8) Jammu and Kashmir: One of the five seats

Key candidates and constituencies in Lok Sabha polls phase six:

1) Bansuri Swaraj (BJP) v Somnath Bharti (AAP): Bansuri, who is the daughter of former Union Minister Sushma Swaraj, will fight the New Delhi Lok Sabha seat to retain it for the BJP. AAP has fielded senior leader Somnath Bharti from the seat. Incumbent MP Meenakshi Lekhi, who won the 2019 polls with over 280,000 vote margin, was denied a ticket by the saffron party this time. Both Swaraj and Bharti are lawyers by profession.

2) Manoj Tiwari (BJP) v Kanhaiya Kumar (Congress): North Delhi Lok Sabha seat’s incumbent MP Manoj Tiwari will compete against Kumar to retain his seat. Kumar joined Congress in 2021. This will be his second attempt in the Lok Sabha polls after his 2019 bid, in which he lost to Union Minister and BJP's Giriraj Singh in Bihar's Begusarai under the CPI.

3) Maneka Gandhi (BJP): Former Union Minister Maneka Gandhi will contest the elections from Sultanpur in Uttar Pradesh, aiming to retain her parliamentary constituency for the second time. She won the seat in 2019 by a vote margin of 14,000 votes. Notably, the BJP has won this seat in all Lok Sabha elections since 1991, except in 1999, 2004 and 2009.

4) Azamgarh, UP: A fierce Lok Sabha poll battle is expected on the Azamgarh seat, where Dharmendra Yadav, the cousin of Samajwadi Party’s President Akhilesh Yadav, and Bhojpuri actor-singer Dinesh Lal Yadav (Nirahua) will compete. Nirahua, will fight to retain his seat, which he won in the 2022 Lok Sabha by-election after Akhilesh Yadav resigned as an MP following his victory as an MLA from Mainpuri.

5) Mehbooba Mufti (PDP): Anantnag-Rajouri constituency of Jammu and Kashmir will also go to polls on May 25, witnessing a four-way battle between People’s Democratic Party (PDP) president Mehbooba Mufti, Zaffar Iqbal Manhas of the Apni Party, which is backed by the BJP, and National Conference (NC) leader Mian Altaf, and Mohammad Saleem Parray of the Democratic Progressive Azad Party (DPAP).

6) Tamluk, West Bengal: Former Calcutta High Court judge and a fierce critic of CM Mamata Banerjee, Abhijit Gangopadhyay, who recently joined the BJP, will contest the polls from Tamluk. In hopes to beat him, the TMC has fielded young party spokesperson and poet Debangshu Bhattacharya. Bhattacharya is known for penning the TMC’s 2022 election song - ‘Khela Hobe’.

7) Karnal, Haryana: Heavyweight candidate and former Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar will contest from the Karnal seat. Khattar will face Haryana Youth Congress President Divyanshu Budhiraja.

8) Gurgaon: BJP leader and Union Minister Rao Inderjit Singh, who hails from the royal Ahir family of the erstwhile state of Rewari, will fight to retain his constituency. The Congress has fielded film star Raj Babbar on this seat.

Who bagged Lok Sabha elections phase six constituencies in 2019?

1) Bihar
Valmiki Nagar (gen): Janata Dal (United)
Paschim Champaran (gen): BJP
Purvi Champaran (gen): BJP
Sheohar (gen): BJP
Vaishali (gen): Lok Janshakti Party
Gopalganj (SC): Janata Dal (United)
Siwan (gen): Janata Dal (United)
Maharajganj (gen): BJP

2) Haryana
Ambala (SC): BJP
Kurukshetra (gen): BJP
Sirsa (SC): BJP
Hisar (gen): BJP
Karnal (gen): BJP
Sonipat (gen): BJP
Rohtak (gen): BJP
Bhiwani-Mahendragarh (gen): BJP
Gurgaon (gen): BJP
Faridabad (gen): BJP

3) Jharkhand
Giridih (gen): All Jharkhand Students Union
Ranchi (gen): BJP
Dhanbad (gen): BJP
Jamshedpur (gen): BJP

4) Odisha
Sambalpur (gen): BJP
Keonjhar (ST): Biju Janata Dal
Dhenkanal (gen): Biju Janata Dal
Cuttack (gen): Biju Janata Dal
Puri (gen): Biju Janata Dal
Bhubaneswar (gen): BJP

5) Uttar Pradesh
Sultanpur (gen): BJP
Pratapgarh (gen): BJP
Phulpur (gen): BJP
Allahabad (gen): BJP
Ambedkar Nagar (GEN): Bahujan Samaj Party
Shrawasti (gen): Bahujan Samaj Party
Domariyaganj (gen): BJP
Basti (gen): BJP
Sant Kabir Nagar (gen): BJP
Lalganj (SC): Bahujan Samaj Party
Azamgarh (gen): Samajwadi Party
Jaunpur (gen): Bahujan Samaj Party
Machhlishahr (SC): BJP
Bhadohi (gen): BJP

6) West Bengal
Tamluk (gen): Trinamool Congress
Kanthi (gen): Trinamool Congress
Ghatal (gen): Trinamool Congress
Jhargram (ST): BJP
Medinipur (gen): BJP
Purulia (gen): BJP
Bankura (gen): BJP
Bishnupur (SC): BJP

7) Delhi
Chandni Chowk (gen): BJP
North East Delhi (gen): BJP
East Delhi (gen): BJP
New Delhi (gen): BJP
North West Delhi (SC): BJP
West Delhi (gen): BJP
South Delhi (gen): BJP

8) Jammu and Kashmir:

Anantnag-Rajouri: National Conference party

Total voter turnout in Lok Sabha elections 2019: State-wise list

1) Andhra Pradesh: 80.38 per cent

2) Bihar: 57.33 per cent

3) Jharkhand: 66.8 per cent

4) Madhya Pradesh: 71.2 per cent

5) Maharashtra: 61.02 per cent

6) Odisha: 73.29 per cent

7) Telangana: 62.77 per cent

8) Uttar Pradesh: 59.21 per cent

9) West Bengal: 81.76 per cent

10) Jammu and Kashmir: 44.97 per cent

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: May 24 2024 | 9:01 AM IST

Explore News