Cabinet reshuffle: Arjun Meghwal replaces Kiren Rijiju as new law minister

Kiren Rijiju will move to the Earth sciences ministry, a govt notification announced on Thursday

Nupur Dogra New Delhi
kiren rijiju

Kiren Rijiju

Listen to This Article

Arjun Ram Meghwal will replace Rijiju and will take over as minister of state (MoS) with an independent charge in the ministry of law and justice. Meghwal will continue to serve his existing portfolios as well.
According to the government press release, Kiren Rijiju has now been assigned the portfolio of the ministry of Earth sciences. Union minister Jitendra Singh was holding charge of the ministry of Earth sciences.

The press release uploaded on the Centre's website said:

"The President of India, as advised by the Prime Minister, has been pleased to direct the following reallocation of portfolios among Ministers in the Union Council of Ministers:

1. The portfolio of the ministry of Earth sciences will be assigned to Shri Kiren Rijiju.
2. Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal, minister of state, was assigned the independent charge as minister of state in the Ministry of Law and Justice in addition to his existing portfolios, in place of Shri Kiren Rijiju.

Also Read

Linking voter ID to Aadhaar not compulsory, Kiren Rijiju tells Lok Sabha

Law minister Rijiju suggests inclusion of govt representatives in collegium

Fact check: Did Asle Toje call PM Modi biggest contender for Nobel Prize?

LIVE: Yogi Adityanath says may move SC after HC setback on ULB polls in UP

Indian stock market to remain closed today on account of Ram Navami

Snow clearance underway in Lahaul-Spiti, IMD issues yellow warning

Vehicular movement to Imphal restored, trucks carry essential supplies

Wrestlers march to Bangla Sahib Gurudwara amid protest against WFI chief

India records 906 new Covid-19 cases, active infections dip to 10,179

Cool morning in Delhi, but temp expected to rise to 40 degrees Celsius

Meghwal was already serving as minister of state for parliamentary affairs, water resources, river development and Ganga rejuvenation and has been a member of the BJP for over a decade.
He was elected as a member of Parliament in Lok Sabha from Bikaner in 2009 and 2014.

Meghwal has also served as the chief whip of the BJP in Lok Sabha and was nominated by the Speaker as the chairman of the house committee in the lower house.
Meghwal was serving as the Union MoS for parliamentary affairs and culture under the Narendra Modi-led government before this. According to the notification, he will continue to hold the post.

First Published: May 18 2023 | 10:31 AM IST

Explore News