Business Standard

'Attack by PM Modi, Amit Shah on Constitution not acceptable': Rahul Gandhi

Slamming PM Modi and Amit Shah, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi said no power can touch the Constitution and the Opposition will protect it

Rahul, Rahul Gandhi, Congress leader

New Delhi: Congress member Rahul Gandhi shows a book of Constitution of India at the Parliament House complex on the first day of the first session of the 18th Lok Sabha, in New Delhi, Monday, June 24, 2024. (Photo: PTI)

Nandini Singh New Delhi

Listen to This Article

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Monday launched a scathing attack on Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah, accusing them of attacking the Constitution. 

Speaking as the first session of the 18th Lok Sabha began, Gandhi emphasised that the Opposition-led INDIA bloc would not tolerate such actions.

“No power can touch the Constitution,” Gandhi told reporters, displaying a copy of the Constitution as a symbol of defiance. 

“The attack that the Prime Minister and Amit Shah are launching on the Constitution is not acceptable to us. We will not let this happen. So, we held the Constitution while taking the oath. Our message is going across, and no power can touch the Constitution of India,” he added.

His remarks came in response to Prime Minister Modi's earlier comments, wherein the Prime Minister criticised the Congress for the Emergency imposed in 1975 by then-Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, describing it as a "black spot" on democracy.

On June 25, 1975, Indira Gandhi, a towering figure in the Congress, declared an Emergency, suspending civil liberties, imprisoning Opposition leaders, and enforcing press censorship.

INDIA bloc launches protest inside Parliament

In a show of unity and strength, MPs from the INDIA bloc gathered in the Parliament complex on the first day of the Lok Sabha session, holding copies of the Constitution and chanting slogans for the preservation of democracy. 

The gathering included prominent leaders such as Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, Rahul Gandhi, Trinamool Congress’s Sudip Bandyopadhyay, and DMK’s TR Baalu. They assembled at the site where the Gandhi statue once stood, which has recently been relocated to a new spot named Prerna Sthal, along with 14 other statues from the complex.

Former Congress president Sonia Gandhi also joined the Assembly, reinforcing the message of solidarity. The MPs, with copies of the Constitution in hand, raised slogans like “long live Constitution,” “we will save the Constitution,” and “save our democracy.”

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jun 24 2024 | 4:50 PM IST

Explore News