Business Standard

Oath ceremony highlights: Modi sworn in as PM; TDP, JD(U), LJP, HAM, JD(S) get Cabinet berths

Modi cabinet 2024 LIVE updates: George Kurian was inducted in the new NDA cabinet while Anurag Thakur was excluded from the Modi Cabinet 3.0. JP Nadda was also included as a part of the new cabinet

Image BS Web Team New Delhi
Narendra Modi to take oath for the third consecutive term as the Prime Minister along with his Cabinet

Modi oath-taking ceremony: PM Narendra Modi at the Rashtrapati Bhawan

Narendra Modi oath-taking ceremony 2024 LIVE updates: Narendra Modi took the oath as the prime minister of the country for the third consecutive time along with the members of his new Cabinet at the Rashtrapati Bhawan in the national capital. President Droupadi Murmu administered the oath of office  to Narendra Modi in a grandiose ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhawan. Foreign dignitaries in attendance included Maldives’ President Mohamed Muizzu, Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Seychelles’ Vice President Ahmed Afif, Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Sri Lanka’s President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, and Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda.’ BJP President JP Nadda, Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, Dharmendra Pradhan, Nitin Gadkari, Pralhad Joshi, Ashwini Vaishnaw, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Giriraj Singh,  S Jaishankar, and Piyush Goyal were sworn in as Cabinet ministers.  In the General Elections 2024, the BJP secured 240 seats, falling 32 short of the required majority to form the government. TDP and JD(U) have shored up NDA's numbers, assisting the coalition get past the 272-mark in the Lok Sabha and paving the way for the formation of the government. 

Newly elected MPs, potentially to become Union Ministers in the third NDA government, are summoned for a meeting with PM Modi at 11:30 am. BJP sources suggest they might be appointed as ministers this evening. TDP MP Jayadev Galla announced on 'X' that Ram Mohan Naidu will be a cabinet minister and Chandra Sekhar Pemmasani will be a minister of state. PM Modi is poised to be sworn in on Sunday for his third consecutive term as the head of a coalition government. At 73 years old, he will match the achievement of India's first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru, who won the general elections of 1952, 1957, and 1962.

9:54 PM

Srinivasa Varma's grassroots level work propels him to Union cabinet

B Srinivasa Varma, who took oath as minister on Sunday, is a grassroots BJP leader from Bhimavaram, the rice bowl of Andhra Pradesh, and he started his political journey from the party's yuva morcha, over three decades ago.
The 57-year-old leader from West Godavari district became BJYM district president in 1991 and over the years, he has held party positions including Bhimavaram town president, West Godavari district secretary and state secretary. He organised BJP state executive meetings in Bhimavaram four times and also played a role in the victories of UV Krishnam Raju in 1999 and G Ganga Raju in 2014 from the Narsapuram Lok Sabha constituency.
9:27 PM

From RSS to Union cabinet, firebrand leader Bandi Sanjay takes oath as Union minister

Bandi Sanjay Kumar, who took oath as minister in the Narendra Modi cabinet on Sunday, weathered political storms and intra-party bickering before he could successfully establish himself as a firebrand BJP leader in Telangana.
The foundation for the political rise of Kumar could be traced to his days of student politics in the Akhil Bhaaratiya Vidyarthi Parishad, the students wing of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, with which he was associated since his childhood.
With his grooming in the Right wing outfits providing him a clear ideological launchpad and direction, he gradually became popular as an aggressive Saffron leader. Kumar's 'take the bull by the horns' style, ensured victory in a considerable number of seats in the Hyderabad civic polls during the previous BRS regime, which gave a clear signal that the saffron party can be an alternative to the then ruling party.
9:14 PM

Kerala MP Suresh Gopi takes oath as cabinet minister

Actor Suresh Gopi takes oath as cabinet minister in Modi government 3.0.
9:13 PM

News update: Tumakuru MP V Somanna sworn in as Union minister of state

Senior BJP leader and former Karnataka Minister V Somanna took oath as a part of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's cabinet.
9:08 PM

Narendra Modi Cabinet LIVE: Anupriya Patel takes oath as Cabinet minister

Apna Dal (Sonelal) leader Anupriya Patel was sworn in as a minister in the new Narendra Modi government today.
8:58 PM

Pralhad Joshi, five-time MP, sworn in as Union minister

Pralhad Joshi held the portfolios of Coal, Mines and Parliamentary Affairs in the previous Cabinet.
8:51 PM

Rao Inderjit Singh sworn in as minister

 BJP leader Rao Inderjit Singh, who defeated Congress' Raj Babbar from Gurugram, has taken oath as minister of state with independent charge
8:48 PM

PM Modi Oath Ceremony LIVE: Chirag Paswan sworn in as minister in Modi 3.0 Cabinet

LJP (Ram Vilas) chief Chirag Paswan was sworn in as a Cabinet minister in the NDA government.
8:46 PM

Narendra Modi Cabinet LIVE updates: RLD chief Jayant Chaudhary takes oath

RLD chief Jayant Chaudhary, who shifted loyalties from INDIA bloc to the NDA ahead of the General Elections 2024, took oath as a Union minister in the Modi government.
8:42 PM

Narendra Modi Cabinet LIVE updates: BJP MP Jitin Prasada take oath as union minister

8:21 PM

Bhupendra Yadav takes oath as Union minister

BJP MP Bhupendra Yadav was sworn in as a minister in the Narendra Modi government.  An important BJP strategist, Yadav was the Union Cabinet minister of labour and employment, environment, forest and Climate change in the previous Modi regime.
8:17 PM

Piyush Goyal takes oath as Union minister

Piyush Goyal  had secured the victory in the Lok sabha polls against Congress candidate Bhushan Patil from the Mumbai North seat by a huge margin of 3,57,608 votes, the highest in the state
8:16 PM

Lalan Singh takes oath as Union minister

Former JD(U) chief Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh took oath as a Cabinet minister in the Modi government 3.0.
8:06 PM

Narendra Modi oath taking ceremony LIVE: Dharmendra Pradhan sworn in as cabinet minister

BJP MP from Sambalpur Dharmendra Pradhan took the oath as a Union minister in the Modi government.
7:59 PM

Narendra Modi oath-taking ceremony LIVE: Former Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar takes oath

Former Haryana chief Manohar Lal Khattar takes oath as minister in the Modi government. Khattar was appointed as the chief minister in Haryana in October 2014 when the BJP ousted the Congress in the state assembly polls.

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jun 09 2024 | 8:15 AM IST

Explore News