Djokovic wins US Open 2023, equals Margaret's record of 24 Grand Slams

Djokovic defeated Daniil Medvedev 6-3, 7-6, 6-3 to win the US Open 2023 final at the Arthur Ashe Stadium early Monday morning.

Novak Djokovic

Novak Djokovic wins record-equalling 24th Gran Slam title on September 11, 2023. Photo: @usopen

BS Web Team New Delhi
Novak Djokovic created history as he won a record 24th Grand Slam title. Djokovic defeated Daniil Medvedev 6-3, 7-6, 6-3 to win the US Open 2023 final at the Arthur Ashe Stadium early Monday morning.

With this, 36-year-old Djokovic equals Margaret Court's record of 24 Grand Slam tennis titles, the most by any player in history. 

Djokovic moved one major singles title in front of Serena Williams to become the first player to win 24 in the Open era, which began in 1968. Margaret Court also collected a total of 24, but 13 of those came before professionals were admitted to the Slam events.

Djokovic vs Medvedev final highlights
There were moments, particularly in the 1-hour, 44-minute second set that was as much about tenacity as talent, when Djokovic appeared to be faltering. After some of the most grueling points and there were many he would lean over with hands on knees or use his racket for support or pause to stretch his legs. After one, he dropped to his back on the court and stayed down for a bit as the crowd roared.
He allowed Medvedev to come within a single point of taking that set while returning at 6-5. Djokovic rushed the net behind his serve, and while Medvedev had an opening for a backhand passing shot he did not come through.
That was a key adjustment: When Djokovic was looking more bedraggled, he turned to serve-and-volleying, not his usual sort of tactic, to great success. He won 20 of 22 points he played that way, and 37 of 44 overall on the points when he went to the net.
This triumph against Medvedev, the opponent who beat him in the 2021 final at Flushing Meadows to stop a bid for the first men's calendar-year Grand Slam in more than a half-century, made Djokovic the oldest male champion at the U.S. Open in the Open era.
"First of all, Novak, I want to ask: What are you still doing here? Come on," Medvedev joked during the trophy presentation.

Djokovic's fourth championship in New York, where he was unable to compete a year ago because he isn't vaccinated against Covid-19, goes alongside his 10 trophies from the Australian Open, seven from Wimbledon and three from the French Open, extending his lead on the men's Slam list.

"To make the history of this sport is something truly remarkable and special," Djokovic said after winning the 2023 US Open final against Medvedev. "I never imagined that I would be here talking about 24 Slams. I never thought that would be the reality, but the last couple of years I felt I have a chance, I have a shot at history—and why not grab it if it's presented."

Djokovic way ahead of Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer

Rafael Nadal, who has been sidelined since January with a hip problem that required surgery, is next with 22; Roger Federer, who announced his retirement a year ago, finished with 20.

What next for Djokovic?

As good as ever, Djokovic went 27-1 in the sport's most prestigious events this season: The lone blemish was a loss to Carlos Alcaraz in the final at Wimbledon in July. Djokovic will rise to No. 1 in the rankings on Monday, overtaking Alcaraz, who was the defending champion at Flushing Meadows but was eliminated by No. 3 Medvedev.

WATCH: Djokovic's US Open 2023 final highlights

When Djokovic 24th Grand Slam

Djokovic Pays Tribute To Kobe Bryant After 24th Grand Slam

Djokovic donned a shirt with "24" and "Mamba Forever" written on it as a tribute to the late NBA star Kobe Bryant, who wore that jersey number. And on top of that went a white jacket with the same significant number stamped on the chest.

Djokovic's celebrations: The one with the family

Novak Djokovic's Grand Slam titles
Number Grand Slam Opponent in final
1 2008 Australian Open Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)
2 2011 Australian Open Andy Murray (GBR)
3 2011 Wimbledon Rafael Nadal (ESP)
4 2011 US Open Rafael Nadal (ESP)
5 2012 Australian Open Rafael Nadal (ESP)
6 2013 Australian Open Andy Murray (GBR)
7 2014 Wimbledon Roger Federer (SUI)
8 2015 Australian Open Andy Murray (GBR)
9 2015 Wimbledon Roger Federer (SUI)
10 2015 US Open Roger Federer (SUI)
11 2016 Australian Open Andy Murray (GBR)
12 2016 French Open Andy Murray (GBR)
13 2018 Wimbledon Kevin Anderson (RSA)
14 2018 US Open Juan Martín del Potro (ARG)
15 2019 Australian Open Rafael Nadal (ESP)
16 2019 Wimbledon Roger Federer (SUI)
17 2020 Australian Open Dominic Thiem (AUT)
18 2021 Australian Open Daniil Medvedev (RUS)
19 2021 French Open Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE)
20 2021 Wimbledon Matteo Berrettini (ITA)
21 2022 Wimbledon Nick Kyrgios (AUS)
22 2023 Australian Open Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE)
23 2023 French Open Casper Ruud (NOR)
24 2023 US Open Danill Medvedev

Margaret Court's achievements

Margaret Court's Australian Open records

Winner: 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1973
Finalist: 1968


Winner: 1961 (with Mary Carter Reitano), 1962 (with Robyn Ebbern), 1963 (with Robyn Ebbern), 1965 (with Lesley Turner), 1969 (with Judy Tegard), 1970 (with Judy Tegart Dalton), 1971 (with Evonne Goolagong), 1973 (with Virginia Wade)

Finalist: 1960 (with Lorraine Coghlan Robinson), 1964 (with Robyn Ebbern), 1966 (with Lesley Turner), 1975 (with Olga Morozova)
Semi-Finalist: 1968 (with Gail Benedetti)

Winner: 1963 (with Ken Fletcher), 1964 (with Ken Fletcher), 1965 (with John Newcombe, final not played), 1969 (with Marty Riessen, final not played)

Finalist: 1968 (with Allan Stone)
Semi-Finalist: 1966 (with John Newcombe)

Margaret Court's French Open records
Winner: 1962, 1964, 1969, 1970, 1973
Finalist: 1965
Semi-Finalist: 1966


Winner: 1964 (with Lesley Turner), 1965 (with Lesley Turner), 1966 (with Judy Tegart), 1973 (with Virginia Wade)

Finalist: 1962 (with Justina Bricka), 1963 (with Robyn Ebbern), 1969 (with Nancy Richey)

Semi-Finalist: 1970 (with Judy Tegart Dalton), 1971 (with Evonne Goolagon)


Winner: 1963 (with Ken Fletcher), 1964 (with Ken Fletcher), 1965 (with Ken Fletcher), 1969 (with Marty Riessen)

Semi-Finalist: 1961 (with Roy Emerson), 1970 (with Zeljko Franulovic)

Margaret Court's Wimbledon records

Winner: 1963, 1965, 1970

Finalist: 1964, 1971

Semi-Finalist: 1966, 1969, 1973, 1975


Winner: 1964 (with Lesley Turner), 1969 (with Judy Tegart)

Finalist: 1961 (with Jan Lehane), 1963 (with Robyn Ebbern), 1966 (with Judy Tegart), 1971 (with Evonne Goolagong)

Semi-Finalist: 1962 (with Justina Bricka), 1970 (with Judy Tegart Dalton)


Winner: 1963 (with Ken Fletcher), 1965 (with Ken Fletcher), 1966 (with Ken Fletcher), 1968 (with Ken Fletcher), 1975 (with Marty Riessen)

Finalist: 1964 (with Ken Fletcher), 1971 (with Marty Riessen)

Semi-Finalist: 1961 (with Enrique Morea), 1969 (with Ken Fletcher)

Margaret Court's US Open records


Winner: 1962, 1965, 1969, 1970, 1973
Finalist: 1963
Semi-Finalist: 1961, 1972

Winner: 1963 (with Robyn Ebbern), 1968 (with Maria Bueno), 1970 (with Judy Tegart Dalton), 1973 (with Virginia Wade), 1975 (with Virginia Wade)
Finalist: 1964 (with Lesley Turner), 1969 (with Virginia Wade), 1972 (with Virginia Wade)

Winner: 1961 (with Bob Mark), 1962 (with Fred Stolle), 1963 (with Ken Fletcher), 1964 (with John Newcombe), 1965 (with Fred Stolle), 1969 (with Marty Riessen), 1970 (with Marty Riessen), 1972 (with Marty Riessen)
Finalist: 1973 (with Marty Riessen)
Semi-Finalist: 1975 (with Marty Riessen)

(With agencies inputs)

First Published: Sep 11 2023 | 05:11 AM IST

Explore News